Contact: Brendan Evans
Online Registration
  • Registration for this event is now closed.
Lincoln #14
The Lincoln Marriott Cornhusker Hotel
333 S 13th St

Lincoln, NE 68508
United States of America


LUNCH COST: $35 per person early bird price until Friday, April 7; $40 per ticket after April 7. 


2023 Nebraskan of the Year
Click here to purchase your ticket to the luncheon celebration
Rhonda Seacrest grew up in North Platte. The work ethic and the culture of a rural, pioneer town helped to set her character and her focus. Hard work is part of being in Nebraska. There were pioneers that traveled on and there were those who stayed. You do a thing, because it needs doing. You see a problem, and you solve it. These are among Rhonda’s guiding tenets.  
Many years ago, Rhonda found a passion for supporting children and youth in our communities investing in backpack and shelter programs acknowledging that hungry children find it difficult to grow and learn. In that same vein, she is committed to the arts, “because they build ideas and vision for the future, “while inspiring children and helping them fuel their minds. Her goal is to make sure that all young people in Nebraska have the opportunity to be encouraged, successful, and make their communities better. Included in her support is Sheldon Statewide, which since 1987 has shared artworks from the Sheldon Museum of Art’s collection with thousands throughout the state. She and her late husband, James, have supported opera events and education throughout Nebraska via the James C. and Rhonda Seacrest Tour Nebraska Opera Fund. Likewise, the University of Nebraska—Lincoln College of Business benefits from the Seacrest Teaching Fellows program, as well as the funding of a popular course on philanthropy management.  
Seacrest serves on boards for the Lincoln City Libraries, Mid-American Arts Alliance, and Public Art Lincoln. Since the pandemic, Seacrest has added food scarcity as a priority through the Food Bank of Lincoln. She has served on the Lied Center Performing Arts Statewide Advisory Board and supports several programs, especially symphony and classical music. Additionally, the Seacrest family are benefactors of the Lincoln, Scottsbluff, Sidney, North Platte and Lexington community foundations. Whether providing arts opportunities throughout western Nebraska or filling backpacks with food for students that need it, or teaching UNL students about how best to give back to their communities, Rhonda Seacrest lives the Rotary ideal of “Service of Above Self” in quiet ways that are fundamental in making sure that all of our youth have the opportunity to be successful.  
We are so very proud to recognize Rhonda Seacrest as the 2023 Nebraskan of the Year.
Click here to purchase your Nebraskan of the Year ticket luncheon.

Since 1988, Rotary #14 has been honoring Nebraskans who have distinguished themselves through service to others in keeping with ideals of Rotary International. These Nebraskans have shown honesty, integrity and concern for others through leadership and significant contributions to their profession and their communities. This award is open to ALL Nebraskans except elected officials, currently in office. Nominees do NOT have to be a Rotarian. 

The goal each year is to select one honoree from a statewide field based on the following criteria:

  1. Honesty, integrity and concern for others;
  2. Service in charitable and civic causes and;
  3. Leadership and significant accomplishments in his/her profession or volunteer activities.
The Lincoln Rotary Club #14 is pleased to announce the executive director of Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs Judi gaiashkibos as the 2022 Nebraskan of the Year. 
Past Recipients of the Rotary #14 Nebraskan of the Year:
  • 2022 Judi gaiashkibos
    Executive Director - Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs
  • 2019 JoAnn Martin

    CEO - Ameritas

  • 2018 John Cook

    Coach - Educator - Mentor

  • 2017 Anthony (Tony) O. Messineo, Jr.

    Business Leader - Philanthropist - Friend

  • 2016 Dr. Martin Massengale

    Educator - Civic Leader

  • 2015 Duane Acklie*

    Businessman — Civic Leader — Philanthropist

  • 2014 Dr. Ron Hull

    Broadcast Pioneer — Educator — Civic Leader

  • 2013 J. Paul McIntosh*

    Businessman — Civic Leader — Philanthropist

  • 2012 Harold W. "Andy" Andersen*

    Businessman — Civic Leader — Philanthropist

  • 2011 Lee Sapp

    Businessman — Philanthropist

  • 2010 Henry H. “Hod” Kosman

    Banker — Civic Leader — Conservationist

  • 2009 Roger R. Wehrbein

    State Senator

  • 2008 Lt. Gen (Ret.) Roger P. Lempke

    Military Official

  • 2007 Allen J. Beermann

    Public Official

  • 2006 Ted Kooser

    US Poet Laureate — Cancer Survivor

  • 2005 Susan S. Seacrest

    Community Leader — Environmentalist

  • 2004 Leola J. Bullock*

    Community Volunteer — Civil Rights Advocate

  • 2003 Donald O. Clifton*

    Entrepreneur — Author

  • 2002 Charles “Charley” Thone*

    Lawyer — Civic Leader — Congressman — Governor

  • 2001 S. N. “Bud” Wolbach*

    Businessman — Civic Leader

  • 2000 Father Michael G. Morrison*

    Educator — Administrator

  • 1999 Joan R. Burney

    Communicator — Friend

  • 1998 Frank B. Morrison*

    Lawyer — Civic Leader — Governor

  • 1997 James Stuart*

    Entrepreneur — Civic Leader

  • 1996 Durwood B. “Woody” Varner*

    Educator — Administrator — Civic Leader

  • 1995 Dr. Tom Osborne

    Educator — Football Coach

  • 1994 Alice Dittman

    Businesswoman — Civic Leader

  • 1993 Earl T. Luff*

    Businessman — Civic Leader — Horseman — Humanitarian

  • 1992 Kenneth L. Wortman*


  • 1991 Clayton Yeutter*

    Agricultural Policy Development — Secretary of Agriculture

  • 1990 Wayne O. Tanderup*

    Businessman — Humanitarian

  • 1989 Robert E. Knoll*

    Teacher — Scholar

  • 1988 Judge Robert Van Pelt*

    Teacher — Lawyer — Jurist